Facemasks from old HF dust collector bags
so i keep seeing people make face masks from bandanas, t-shirts, even papertowels...etc.

Would the original bags that come with a Harbor freight dust collector be better than these materials (since n95 masks are hard to come by these days and should be reserved for those in the medical profession)
What do you think?  Should i cut mine up?  I never used them even... so no dust on them...

Colin
(04-09-2020, 10:20 AM)Cdshakes Wrote: so i keep seeing people make face masks from bandanas, t-shirts, even papertowels...etc.

Would the original bags that come with a Harbor freight dust collector be better than these materials (since n95 masks are hard to come by these days and should be reserved for those in the medical profession)
What do you think?  Should i cut mine up?  I never used them even... so no dust on them...

Colin

I'm no scientist, but I do deal with microscopy and the world of small things. As I understand it, most water droplets carrying a virus are less than 5 microns in size. The HF dust bag is a 5micron filter. So I would assume that it would not protect you. When I hear "use a scarf of t-shirt it's better than nothing" type comments, I wonder the same thing.. If your filter isn't going to stop droplets smaller than 5micron from getting through, how is it valuable at all other than to make you feel like you're doing something rather than nothing?
with the scarf/t-shirt method, i keep hearing it's not to protect, but rather to prevent you from spreading, if you were infected and didn't know it.  Not sure how that works exactly...
(04-09-2020, 10:38 AM)Cdshakes Wrote: with the scarf/t-shirt method, i keep hearing it's not to protect, but rather to prevent you from spreading, if you were infected and didn't know it.  Not sure how that works exactly...