Grizzly G0889Z 13" 2 HP Benchtop Planer with Spiral Cutterhead
Hi guys,

Does anyone own this model planer from Grizzly? Grizzly G0889Z 13" 2 HP Benchtop Planer with Spiral Cutterhead. I have just a garage shop and I already have 1 wall filled with equipment. I use our community shop which is huge for a jointer and planer but with it being closed due to the virus I'm going crazy. 

I was looking at the Dewalt DW735X 13” but it does not come with a spiral head. In my old shop my jointer and planer had Shelix heads and the difference in cut and noise was dramatic.

Having a planer in my home will save me time driving over to the shop for small projects etc. The Grizzly unit looks a little cheap like the old 12” delta planers.

Any experience would be great.

Thanks

Mike
I have no experience with Grizzly.  I do have the DW735 with the spiral head at an investment of $900 so the Grizzly price is good.  If it is truly 2HP that is a great price.

I think I remember a discussion here a long time ago about 2HP motors.  IIRC you can not get 2hp out of 110 wall plug.  So I'm curious about my memory or how they can rate it 2HP.
"I tried being reasonable..........I didn't like it." Clint Eastwood
(04-19-2020, 12:34 PM)Bill Holt Wrote: I have no experience with Grizzly.  I do have the DW735 with the spiral head at an investment of $900 so the Grizzly price is good.  If it is truly 2HP that is a great price.

I think I remember a discussion here a long time ago about 2HP motors.  IIRC you can not get 2hp out of 110 wall plug.  So I'm curious about my memory or how they can rate it 2HP.

Bill, you are correct. A true 2HP needs 20 -24 amps to run properly. The best you are going to get from 110 is 20. I believe they use the term "develops 2HP". Marketing terms. I have the Grizzly 2hp hybrid table saw on a 20 amp 110 circuit and it runs fine. 

I want my old shop back.... but I think the people that bought my house would have a objection.