Open neutral question
Randomly testing outlets in the house with a plug in-circuit tester and I ran into a circuit that is showing up as an open neutral.  The outlet is on a switch for both plugs. When the switch is in the on position the circuit tester indicates normal and ok, but when the switch is in the off position the circuit tester indicates I have an open neutral.  I'm assuming this is not normal and how do I start to troubleshoot this, and what would cause this.

Thanks,

Mike
I'm not an electrician. So, I could be wrong. I assume this is a typical 3 wire home 115v circuit with black, white and bare ground. I think that the tester showing that you have an open neutral indicates that the wrong wire is switched. Check the connections at the switch. The black wire should be connected to the switch and the white wire should pass through and the bare wire should also pass through.
(09-07-2020, 08:44 AM)CanoeBoy Wrote: The outlet is on a switch for both plugs.

(09-07-2020, 09:11 AM)Willyou Wrote: I think that the tester showing that you have an open neutral indicates that the wrong wire is switched.

Sounds like it to me, too.

It's more complicated in that if it's a switch leg with no power to the switch box, the white was supposed to be the always hot to the switch, and the black is supposed to be switched.  It's easy to mess that up.  Which seems to be the case.

Open the receptacle and see what the wire to the switch is connected to, and which side of the receptacle the other (switched) conductor is terminating.  

Shut the power off at the breaker and test to verify it's dead before poking around in there.
Tom

“This place smells like that odd combination of flop sweat, hopelessness, aaaand feet"
(09-07-2020, 10:07 AM)TDKPE Wrote: Sounds like it to me, too.