Spray help
I have been spraying for several years now but have never been satisfied of the results. Here are a couple pictures of my latest attempt. I am using an LVLP Qualspray QS-600 gun. This is a gravity feed. In these pics I was spraying GF's exterior 450. It has a viscosity of 82sec in #4 ford cup. I was using a 2.5mm needle, had the air at 2 turns and the media at 3 turns. The pressure at the gun without the trigger pulled is 20psi. With the trigger pulled it drops to about 0psi. I also have a problem with the air cap getting coated with material while spraying. I try to regularly wipe off the air cap while spraying but stuff still builds up and I have to use my fingernail to remove dried material to keep the air holes on the horns from clogging. Any tips to getting this to lay our better will be appreciated. Years ago when I started spraying I got a mil gauge to test my film thickness. If I sprayed it as heavy as the manufacturer suggests it runs on vertical surfaces. One other thing I had read was you should open up the material screw so that the material flows with a stream away from the air cap not running down the front. I can do that with something like shellac but with any clear that I have tried to spray it always flows down the air cap.