Is there any woodworking you can make money at?
I'm a woodworker of average talent who is about to sell my business and "retire". I have a good line of woodworking equipment, shop space, average woodworking skills, and land with a lot of ash and walnut trees. (I have already cut and had trees milled so I know how that goes). 
I know that every fool with a tablesaw and a hammer dreams about making a living woodworking, but is there anything that actually pays? 
I'm not looking to make a living doing it, I'll have social security and other investment money, but I would like to have something to spend some time doing and at least break even on.
(02-09-2024, 02:09 PM)nosoup4u Wrote: I'm a woodworker of average talent who is about to sell my business and "retire". I have a good line of woodworking equipment, shop space, average woodworking skills, and land with a lot of ash and walnut trees. (I have already cut and had trees milled so I know how that goes). 
I know that every fool with a tablesaw and a hammer dreams about making a living woodworking, but is there anything that actually pays? 
I'm not looking to make a living doing it, I'll have social security and other investment money, but I would like to have something to spend some time doing and at least break even on.

I was in the same boat, but you go on amazon urns 30 bucks keepsake boxes same.  Now I just make stuff for my family its much more enjoyable.  My mission now is to have everypiece of furniture in my house made by me.
but good luck with whatever you decide.
Back when I was doing woodworking for money I found a couple of rules of thumb.
1. Any project that has its largest dimension under four feet, you'll lose money on.
2. Be willing and able to make what the customer wants and not what you want to make.