Woodnet Forums
Workbench vises - Printable Version

+- Woodnet Forums (https://www.forums.woodnet.net)
+-- Thread: Workbench vises (/showthread.php?tid=7067184)

Workbench vises - Bennett - 08-02-2015

I'm readying to build a workbench-- Roubo style with minor modifications. Seeking opinions about which vises to use, for both end (leg) and tail vises: Bench Crafted versus Lie Nielsen ??? I'll likely use one or the other set.

Re: Workbench vises - Phil S. - 08-02-2015

Are you considering Hovarter vises? I've heard good things about them - in the same company as BC and LN.

Re: Workbench vises - cpolubin - 08-02-2015

I have the Benchcrafted Classic Leg vise and Wagon vice. Really like them both. No complaints at all. I have no experience with the LN versions so will defer to someone who has.

Cliff

Re: Workbench vises - Philip1231 - 08-02-2015

I have the LN vises on my traditional bench: couldn't be more pleased with them. No experience with the BC vises.

Re: Workbench vises - Boatman53 - 08-02-2015

I have the LN screws on the bench I built (with the chain) and the are without a doubt very nice. They have roller bearings where the handle bears on the chop for a very smooth action. But on a general utility bench I have a Hovarter quick release "screw" with the chain for a quick release no pin leg vise and it works very well, wish he had come out with it before I built my bench.
Jim

Re: Workbench vises - Bartee - 08-17-2015

I have Horvarter twin and tail vises on my bench. I love them. They are a precision install and a little different from anything else, but after some use, I really like them.

There are NO screws. So to put a box in the twin vise, I just slide it open, put the box in with my left hand, use my hip to snug the vise face and make a 1/4 - 1/2 turn and the box is tight. Simple.

Installing the Twin vise and tail vise on one side is a challenge. This should be carefully design before you set the legs etc.