Woodnet Forums
Plane decison - Printable Version

+- Woodnet Forums (https://www.forums.woodnet.net)
+-- Thread: Plane decison (/showthread.php?tid=7314332)

Plane decison - Ingjr - 07-07-2016

With my birthday coming up I decided to buy myself something nice. (self-centered I know) My choice is down to the BU Jack Plane from LV or the BU Jack Rabbet plane from LV. My question, would the more expensive Rabbet plane be worth the extra $50 and is there any thing the regular Jack plane would do the Rabbet plane would do much worse or not at all. BTW, I'm not new to planes but I am a part time novice. Life is full of tough decisions, help me spend my money folks. TIA

Re: Plane decison - Derek Cohen - 07-07-2016

The BU Jack Rabbet plane is an amazing plane. It genuinely can be used in almost any reasonably conceivable situation. It is the true Swiss Army Knife. However, I prefer having dedicated planes, and separates are the way for me. If you want the best combination bench plane, then consider the Jack Rabbet.

I wrote a comprehensive review with illustrations here:

http://www.inthewoodshop.com/ToolReviews/VeritasJackRabbetPlane.html

Regards from Perth

Derek

Re: Plane decison - Admiral - 07-07-2016

If you don't consistently have the need for the rabbet function, I'd go with the regular Jack. But then again, I've rarely had the need for a rabbeting bench plane that I couldn't work around. Depends on the work you do. I don't have the rabbet, but the Jack is a great plane and I would expect the same of the rabbet..

Re: Plane decison - AHill - 07-07-2016

If you plan on shooting with your plane, I'd opt for the LAJ. The Jack Rabbet by its nature would continuously take shavings off your shooting board.

Re: Plane decison - Bibliophile 13 - 07-07-2016